How to give a brood break AND get some honey -

Basic beekeeping, this is beekeeping after the first winter until about the third or fourth year. You are a beekeeper, but you still have a lot to learn. Talk about normal everyday beekeeping here.
Rurification
Freshman Beekeeper

How to give a brood break AND get some honey -

Postby Rurification » Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:53 pm

This is a topic started in Intros here: viewtopic.php?f=31&t=839
Posters suggested that I ask it here for wider discussion.

I've been keeping bees since 2012 and finally figured out how to get them through our weird winters. I know that 2nd year colonies are more likely to have mite issues. I've successfully overwintered my four colonies and my task for this year is how to give a brood break to control the mites and still get some honey - I've never gotten much of a honey harvest.

I got some great ideas in the other thread and Michael gave me a great link to his ideas on his site: http://www.bushfarms.com/beessplits.htm#cutdown

I know how to cutouts and catch swarms. How to do a walkaway. How to let them raise their own queen. How to overwinter. Now that I'm on this side of winter and having found this forum, I find I'm having to re-think my colony management. I'm trying to wrap my head around these new ideas:

1. More colonies, smaller.
2. Division of purpose: bee/queen producers v. honey producers
3. Cut -down splits: manipulate where the queen goes, how much brood she takes with her.
4. Confining the queen for a brood break - I have questions about this so will start a new topic.

So my question to you is how would you go about managing for honey, but still give a brood break?
Robin Edmundson
www.rurification.com

Beekeeping since 2012

Michael Bush
Backyard Beekeeper

Re: How to give a brood break AND get some honey -

Postby Michael Bush » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:21 pm

>I got some great ideas in the other thread and Michael gave me a great link to his ideas on his site