hive hosting opportunity

Advanced beekeeping topics, the minutia and the macro, change the world and the industry.
COAL REAPER
Freshman Beekeeper

hive hosting opportunity

Postby COAL REAPER » Thu May 28, 2015 2:51 pm

i am currently in discussions about maintaining hives on a small chicken, pork, and beef farm. just interested for some input on anything i may be overlooking as i have never done this before.
place is small, 18 acres. grass fed, no hormones/steroids/anti-biotics. no chemical fertilizer or pesticides in thier fields. they also have some herbs and flowers and veggies. around the farm the first mile radius is 50% residential, 50% wooded. second mile incorporates some cultivated fields, about equal parts of all at that point. fields are probably mostly hay, but definatly some corn and soybean also.
what got me interested is that this farm was part of some honey bee study done by rutgers. rutgers rep was impressed at the number of foragers counted, more than double any other location they studied in the state. wild bees. no known beekeepers in the area. she knew enough to mention to me that they were small bees.
my idea is to put up some bait hives to try to have thier local bees doing the work. as this is my first year trying swarm traps, if i am not successful i can drop a nuc or two with virgins there and at least the daughters will be half local genetics. but really this place is only 14 miles from my home yard so i question what difference that would even make. i also frequently drive this route for 31 weeks throughout the summer to pick up a CSA farm share 9 miles further down the road (that farm does have bees and they treat). unlimited access would be granted. they layout nothing and bees and equipment are mine if/when operations cease to continue.