Poorly mated

Advanced beekeeping topics, the minutia and the macro, change the world and the industry.
Tyson Kaiser
Freshman Beekeeper

Poorly mated

Postby Tyson Kaiser » Sat Jun 06, 2015 4:40 am

I've been noticing the number of complaints against commercial queen operators having poorly mated queens that are superseded or need to be replaced within a year. Recently I've had some close experience with someone who buys TF queens only to see them get superseded weeks later. This got me thinking about mating practices, and what well-mated means.

Since most queens other than breeder queens are open-mated, we can assume the operator utilizes drone flooding in a restricted area, presumably free of much outside influence. We know that a queen will do more than one mating flight, to return to the colony to have the endophallus removed if still attached. This may be one part of the "mated" signal that the queen emits, or a precursor to that signal. Queens mate several times, if not a dozen or more. We can probably assume the more times she mates she indicates a higher level of fertility based on the number of donor drones. It seems natural; the more number of matings and greater genetic diversity of the sperm content means a strong mated signal. Bees would be less likely to supersede as a result.

My question is how soon do commercial breeders- either Tf or not- pick those queens from mating nucs and box them for shipment? How many rounds can they have of mating, or is just a couple sufficient? How is it possible to look for physical signs of well-matedness?
TF beekeeper and professional remover in Los Angeles. :)
http://www.tysonkaiser.com PM me off list!

waspkiller
Freshman Beekeeper

Re: Poorly mated

Postby waspkiller » Sun Jun 07, 2015 8:43 pm